Lake District 2017: Day 6

It happened. I started thinking about home today, and now I want to… yep, go home. Maybe it’s because today was another cloudy, overcast, dreary day in the Lake District. I didn’t sleep well last night (I blame it on a slight overindulgence in cider last night), but was still up before 5:00 AM. I spent the morning doing very little before having breakfast and setting off on the 9:50 AM boat from Waterhead Pier to Bowness-on-Windermere. I could just as easily driven the 5 miles, but finding parking (or more accurately, paying for parking… most lots have pay machines which only take coins and you need about £4 or £5 worth) is proving to be a bit of a challenge.

Lake District 2017 556a

Once I arrived in Bowness-on-Windermere, I immediately headed for the hills east of town. My first stop was Pine Knott and Brant Fell, both overlooking Lake Windermere. It wasn’t long before I was heading up through the forest and away from the bustle of Bowness-on-Windermere (in fact, Brant Fell is often referred to as Brant Fell Above the Bustle). There were some brighter patches in the sky, but for the most part the sky was overcast and stayed that way all day. Even though Brant Fell sits 629 feet above the town, you could still hear traffic noise from Bowness-on-Windermere and nearby Windermere. I sat for a while at the summit before making my way back down into town.

Lake District 2017 552a
Far Sawrey

Once I was back in town, I followed the lakeshore to Ferry Nab (stopping for a soft serve cone with a Cadbury flake; British ice cream is so much richer than what we get at home!) to catch the ferry across the lake to Near and Far Sawrey. The ferry is operated on underwater cables and takes about 10 minutes to make the crossing. It is also the only ferry in the Lake District that carries cars. From the ferry landing, it is about 1.5 miles to Far Sawrey, and another 0.5 miles past that to Near Sawrey. I had driven through both villages on Sunday, but this time I wanted to explore on foot. Unfortunately, it is quite an uphill walk to Far Sawrey and my legs have done way more uphill walking this week than I’ve done in months. I had been planning to stop for a scone, but I didn’t have much of an appetite and my ice cream was enough to keep me going.

Lake District 2017 568a
The walk between Near and Far Sawrey

In Far Sawrey, I visited St. Peter’s church, then kept following the walking paths to Near Sawrey. From there, I planned to walk to Moss Eccles Tarn and then back to the ferry. I managed to turn off the road past where I should have and followed a trail that eventually ended up there, but was the very long route. The Tarn was pretty, but I only snapped a couple of pictures and then kept going. By the time I got back to the ferry I was completely exhausted. I walked briskly and made it back to the main pier in time to catch the 4:00 PM boat back to Waterhead. It was freezing on the boat. I don’t think it got out of the 40s today anyway, so add a little wind off the water and I was chilled to the bone!

I thought about going out for dinner somewhere tonight but quickly decided I’d rather stay in. I had a chicken sandwich at the hotel bar and then moved to the comfortable couches by the fire to top it off with a sticky toffee pudding (definitely my dessert weakness on this side of the pond). I plan to tune in to some British TV and then head to bed early.

