Lake District 2017: Day 3

Today started off damp and dreary, and pretty much stayed that way all day. I started the morning (after a lovely 10 hour sleep… I’ve slept better the last two nights than I have in the past 6 months!) with church at St. Martin’s in nearby Bowness-on-Windermere. It was an Anglican service, and very liturgical, but it was nice to enjoy the old church and the music. I even got to sample a hot cross bun after the service!

Lake District 2017 173
Hawkshead Village

After church, I set off in the general direction of the Drunken Duck Inn in Barngates (my destination for lunch) and drove through the villages of Hawkshead, Near Sawrey, Far Sawrey, and Outgate before heading for lunch. In all my visits to the U.K., I had yet to indulge in a traditional Sunday Roast. I figured Easter Sunday was a good time to give it a try. The Drunken Duck is set up with a small bar area and then several small dining rooms with tables off the main bar. Families were playing board and card games, and several people were having a drink and reading books. I grabbed a small table by the window and ordered my roast beef. It was a meal with all the fixings… roast beef, potatoes, veggies, Yorkshire pudding, gravy, and Bearnaise sauce. It was heavenly. How have I never indulged in this before??

Lake District 2017 160
Posing for a picture, Hawkshead

After lunch, I was ready for some walking. I went back to the village of Hawkshead and parked the car to explore. Hawkshead is a small village comprised of many tiny lanes and alleyways, a few local shops, and beautiful rolling farmland and sheep pastures. I first walked around several of the shops and then headed for the hills. At the back of the churchyard was a public footpath sign, so I decided to follow it. The path went out into a sheep pasture, where I managed to snap a few pictures of some young lambs and sheep, before curving past farmland and back down into the village. My last stop for the day was a walk near Skelwith Fold before heading back to Ambleside. A cider and dessert in the lounge by the fire capped off another relaxing day in the Lake District.

