Lake District 2017: Day 2

My legs are probably going to hate me tomorrow, but I spent the majority of the day walking today. I managed to stay up until 8PM last night, and slept through until 5:30 this morning. (In other words, pretty much my normal sleep schedule.) I went for a short walk around Jenkin’s field along the shores of Lake Windermere before breakfast, then set off to hike up to High Sweden Bridge. The route starts from Ambleside (about a mile from my hotel) with a steady climb up Sweden Bridge Road before turning into a footpath. The trail follows stone walls along the eastern bank of Scandale Beck as it winds upward to the High Sweden Bridge, an old packhorse bridge crossing the river. I stopped for a few pictures, then continued the climb to the top of the ridgeline before dropping back down into Ambleside. By the time I made it back to my hotel in Waterhead, I was ready for a cat nap!

Lake District 2017 072

 

Yesterday, a sign at the Waterhead Coffee Shop caught my eye advertising their special: a scone with hot rum butter and fresh cream. I’ve been dreaming of it ever since. I found a table in the tiny shop, and the scone did not disappoint! Then it was off to Stagshaw Gardens up the road. The gardens had several flowering trees in bloom, but the highlight ended up being a hike up to Jenkins Crag overlooking Ambleside and Lake Windermere.

Lake District 2017 121
Troutbeck

My last outing of the day was by car, heading to the village of Troutbeck, about 3 miles from Waterhead. It was a white-knuckle drive since I managed to be talked into an upgraded SUV with built-in GPS yesterday. These narrow, single-lane roads are not made for big cars! I parked the car and walked through the churchyard and up the hill to the main village before heading to the Queens Head for dinner. Having had all of my favorite British foods (a scone, some English cider, and sticky toffee pudding) today, I think I can call it a successful day!

