London 2016: Day 5

“Do you hear the people sing?”  I woke up this morning with absolutely no plans for the day and ended up taking a walk through Hampstead this morning before seeing Les Misérables this afternoon… it was a good day in London!

Hampstead Heath
Hampstead Heath

I had thought about doing a London Walks tour of Hampstead this afternoon, but once I decided to stop by the TKTS booth for a ticket to the Les Mis matinee my plans quickly changed.  I decided to do my own walk around Hampstead instead.  I found a bus headed to Hampstead Heath and decided that would let me see some of the city on the way.  I took a seat upstairs and spent 30 minutes watching London go by.  I got off at Hampstead Heath and started walking.  I had heard of Hampstead Heath before, but had never been there.  Hampstead heath is a 790 acre park overlooking the center of London.  It was a quiet oasis and it is hard to believe it is so close to central London.  I walked to the top of Parliament Hill and then meandered my way back to another entrance.

Hampstead Village
Hampstead Village

After leaving the heath, I ended up stumbling upon the Buttery Cafe at the Burgh House where I enjoyed another outdoor scone and hot chocolate before wandering around the village.  I found myself exploring some of the back alleys and streets of Hampstead for the better part of an hour.  Hampstead Village is London’s version of Boston’s Beacon Hill.  I could have easily spent more time there, but Jean Valjean was calling!

I took the tube back to Leicester Square and made my way to the Queen’s Theatre on Shaftesbury Avenue.  Les Misérables is easily and by far my favorite musical.  I don’t think I can say I’ve seen it a dozen times (yet), but I’m easily closing in on ten.  I saw it in London three years ago and it was just as good today as it was then.

After the show was over, it was time to eat a proper dinner.  I was looking forward to dinner at Da Corradi in Shepherd Market tonight.  Unfortunately, the bolognese was underwhelming.  Only one way to make up for that… cider!  I set out for Covent Garden to find a cider bar I had read about.  But, try as I might, I couldn’t find the place.  A nice security guard offered to Google it for me (I had an Amazing Race moment there) and managed to find the address.  I still couldn’t find it.  So I gave up and settled into The Globe pub for a sticky toffee pudding and cider.  If you’ve never tried sticky toffee pudding, do it!  Mine was served with the traditional toffee sauce and custard.  A great end to the night… yum!

