Turks and Caicos 2016 – Day 6

A very windy final day on Grace Bay!  The waves were crashing this morning as I set out for my beach walk.  I didn’t make it as far as I have previous days because I couldn’t find much hard-packed sand to walk on.  Breakfast this morning was at Bay Bistro, located directly on the beach at the Sibonne resort, right next door to The Sands.  I walked over and enjoyed French toast while I watched the waves roll in.  Despite the winds, the water was still a beautiful green (with some whitecaps mixed in).  After breakfast, I quickly slathered on the sunscreen and made my way to the pool.  The beach was way too windy to be comfortable.

Grace Bay Beach at Sunrise
Grace Bay Beach at Sunrise

Unfortunately, all good things come to an end, and so did this vacation.  My late check-out forced me out at noon.  I made one last stop at Potcake Place and then it was back to the airport.  The nice thing about a small island is that even after driving around all week, I didn’t use much gas.  Good thing, because gas was $4.70/gallon!  (As a side note, I had been influenced by what I read online in previous years to rent a right-hand drive car so I would remember to drive on the left.  This year, I rented a left-hand drive car, and it was SO much easier!  The only thing to think about is which side to drive on.)

My flights home were uneventful.  I am a big advocate of Global Entry, but the lines going through immigration in Philadelphia were so short, it didn’t do much to expedite the process today.  I hate leaving a full suitcase lying around, so I immediately unpacked when I got home.  Tomorrow will involve my favorite post-vacation activity: grocery shopping (I’m not kidding; there’s something about coming home to an empty fridge and then going shopping to fill it up).  For tonight, there is nothing like being home in your own bed after several days away! 🙂

Final View of Grace Bay
Final View of Grace Bay

 “The magic thing about home is that it feels good to leave, and it feels even better to come back.” ~Wendy Wonder

