Turks and Caicos 2016 – Day 5

My last full day of vacation (don’t worry… I plan to squeeze in a few hours of beach time before I leave tomorrow!) started with another long sunrise beach walk.  I decided to give Shay Cafe another try for breakfast, and I’m glad I did.  The breakfast sandwich was served on a huge, flaky croissant.  Together with the iced coffee, it managed to tide me over ‘til dinner.

Grace Bay Beach
Grace Bay Beach

Then it was back to the resort for some beach and pool time.  The clouds looked pretty threatening, but it didn’t actually rain until mid-afternoon.  I seized the opportunity to go back to Potcake Place to visit with the potcake puppies.  Most were sleeping when I got there, but they woke up once they realized they had visitors.  I went back to the beach for a little while once the clouds cleared, but by then the wind was really picking up.  I headed out for an early dinner at Las Brisas.  The restaurant is part of Neptune Villas, and the deck looks right out on Chalk Sound… what a view!  It was incredibly windy, and even though it was a warm wind, I wished I had brought my sweatshirt with me.  I really wanted to have the tres leches cake for dessert (not something you can get everywhere, and it’s one of my favorites!), but they didn’t have it today.  The waiter convinced me to try the coconut rum cake instead, and it was just as delicious!

Dinner view from Las Brisas
Dinner view from Las Brisas

By the time I got back to The Sands, the wind was whipping and howling and the sky was completely overcast.  I headed out to the beach to dip my feet in the water again, and I could just make out a few people way down the beach.  Definitely not a night for a long stroll on the beach.  As much as I love to fly, I don’t do well with a lot of turbulence, so I’m hoping the winds die down before tomorrow afternoon!    

