Turks and Caicos 2016 – Day 4

Another perfect, albeit hot, day at the beach. I started the day with an hour-long walk along Grace Bay. I love being up and out for sunrise even when I can’t actually see the sunrise. The beach is always so much quieter at that hour…

Pelican Beach
Pelican Beach

I had been planning today’s morning adventure for weeks. I stopped at Caicos Bakery (seriously the best baked goods on the island!) and picked up a custard-filled beignet before heading to Pelican Beach, at the far eastern end of the island. I visited Pelican Beach last year, and it is by far my favorite beach. It’s not built up at all, and there are very few people around. I think I saw maybe a dozen people the whole time I was there today. The water is an unbelievable shade of blue, and the beach is covered with conch shells. It was the perfect spot for a breakfast picnic! After breakfast, I walked to the far eastern end of Pelican Beach, where you can see across the Leeward Going Through channel over to Little Water Cay (home to the infamous rock iguanas).

Then it was back to The Sands for some beach time. The water was relatively calm today, so I took out one of the kayaks for a paddle. The kayak has a glass bottom, but alas, I didn’t see any marine life during my paddle. Since the humidity was bordering on oppressive today, I opted to head out for the afternoon.

Potcake Place is a non-profit organization that rescues potcake puppies from around the island and offers them for adoption, many going to families in the U.S. You can stop by and visit with the puppies at the shelter. It has become a frequent stop on my visits here. Today there were about 8 puppies out; most of whom were sleeping. They also took in a half dozen new puppies today. I’ll be back tomorrow to see if I can hold some of the newest arrivals! I browsed around a few of the gift/souvenir shops in “downtown” Provo and then grabbed an ice cream cone before heading back.

Grace Bay Sunset
Grace Bay Sunset

Dinner tonight was at Somewhere on the Beach, a local favorite for obvious reasons. I ate there last year and it was one of my favorite meals! I enjoyed a frozen mudslide and pulled pork quesadilla overlooking the Coral Gardens reef. After dinner, it was back to The Sands for another beach walk and beautiful sunset!

