Turks and Caicos 2016 – Day 3

Today may be the “pick of the week”… sunny skies almost all day, reasonably calm water, and temperatures in the low 80s.  What better way to spend it than visiting three beaches?

Sapodilla Bay
Sapodilla Bay

I started the day with a long walk on Grace Bay Beach this morning.  The sky was cloudy, but there were some breaks.  I set off toward the main hub area of Grace Bay.  The Sands is ideally situated with vacant lots on either side, so the beach feels like you have room to spread out.  Not so going in either direction.  The resorts sit almost on top of one another and were it not for the different colors/styles, it would be hard to tell where one resort’s beach area ends and the next’s begins.  

After my beach walk, it was time to get ready for a day of fun in the sun.  I ate breakfast at the resort restaurant, Hemingway’s.  The restaurant is situated directly on the water with deck seats overlooking the beach and Grace Bay.  By then, the sun had come out and I enjoyed a leisurely breakfast of eggs Benedict while I watched the waves roll in.  After breakfast I spent a couple of hours on the beach reading and swimming.  The water temperature is warm, but not exactly bath water.  Since I’m not a salt water person anyway, a few minutes at a time was plenty for me.  Leaving the beach, I spent some time by the pool before setting off for the afternoon.

Breakfast at Hemingway's on the Beach
Breakfast at Hemingway’s on the Beach

 Providenciales is mainly a flat, scrubby island, but the beaches more than make up for the dull inland landscape.  This afternoon, I decided to head to two of the quieter beaches on the south side of the island – Sapodilla Bay and Taylor Bay.  On my way, I made a quick turn down the aptly-named Picturesque Lane to see Chalk Sound.  The water is a milky blue/green color and absolutely stunning.  I spent a morning at Taylor Bay two years ago, and I stopped by Sapodilla Bay last year, so I knew the water would be crystal clear for hundreds of yards out.  This time, I climbed Sapodilla Hill before heading to the beach.  The hill has many old inscriptions left by sailors on the rocks, some dating back to the 1700s.  From the top of the hill, you have a bird’s eye view of Sapodilla Bay and Chalk Sound.  The beach at Sapodilla bay is very narrow and had a lot of visitors today, so I walked the length of the beach and then headed over to Taylor Bay to swim.  

Tonight was the Manager’s reception at The Sands.  All the crackers and cheese, veggies, chips and salsa, and conch fritters you can eat… plus bottomless rum punch and/or Turks’s Head beer!  I settled in on a chair by the pool and starting chatting with the woman next to me.  She was a retired middle school German teacher from New Jersey, also traveling by herself, and we spent the better part of an hour talking about teaching and travel.  The perfect ending to the evening was another gorgeous sunset over Grace Bay!  

Sunset on Grace Bay
Sunset on Grace Bay
