Turks and Caicos 2016 – Day 2

Paradise isn’t quite as paradise-y when it’s windy and rainy.  Fortunately, while the wind was persistent all day, the rain was mostly showers off and on breaking up the “monotony” of the sunshine.  

Grace Bay Beach
Grace Bay Beach

But before we jump into today, let’s recap last night.  My room was 76 degrees when I got here yesterday afternoon, and hadn’t cooled down at all when I got back from dinner.  They sent over someone from maintenance who spent literally an hour doing something with the water tank in the bathroom.  He assured me I was all set and the room would cool down. It didn’t.  Instead, I spent the night tossing and turning in 76 degree heat.  Now, when it is cold at home, I love to be toasty warm.  I keep my heat set at 72 degrees all winter.  But when it’s hot out, I am a big believer of turning on the a/c and piling on the blankets.  Needless to say, sleep was a bit elusive last night.  

Nevertheless, I jumped out of bed at 7 this morning, got ready, and ironed all my clothes for the week.  I’m kind of obsessive about non-wrinkled clothing.  Then I went for a short walk on the beach before heading to Shay Cafe for breakfast.  I had read great reviews and was eager to try it for myself.  I opted for the strawberry crepes, which sound a lot better than they were.  As I saw other people’s egg sandwiches coming out, I was envious.  I should have gone healthy.  After breakfast, it was back to put on the sunscreen and hit the beach/pool.  

The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay

The weather kept me busy moving inside and out all day (luckily, an A/C tech was able to get the room cooled down this morning).  We’d have an hour of sun, followed by 15 minutes of showers, followed by a half hour of sun before another shower set in.  The wind was whipping all day and the waves were crashing.  I’m not a big salt water person, so I much prefer the chlorinated water of the pool anyway.  I managed to finish my first book of vacation this morning and start my second.  I love being able to read for hours at a time!

Dinner tonight was at The Caravel.  The Caravel is fairly new, and is well deserving of all of its great reviews!  The fish tacos were served in little pillow-shaped taco shells with a trio of dipping sauces – sour cream, a spicy ranch, and an even spicier salsa.  A sunset walk on the beach was the perfect ending to the day!

Sunset on Grace Bay
Sunset on Grace Bay
