Ireland 2015: Day 1 – Jetlagged in Dublin

Ireland 2015 003
Arriving in Dublin

This is going to be a short but sweet blog post because I am seriously ready to fall asleep (at 7:15PM!).  At 5:00 yesterday afternoon (east coast time), I indulged in a burrito from Chipotle.  I figured that would be my dinner before heading to the airport, and hopefully I could ignore the food on the plane and try to get some sleep.  If you know me, you know I’m generally in the “early to bed, early to rise” category.  So I figured by 9:30 or 10:00, I’d be dozing in my seat.  Nope.  The food cart came rolling by around 10:30 and I was ready to eat!  Turns out, I could have easily passed on the vegetarian pasta and Pepperidge Farm cookies, but once I had it, it would have been rude not to eat it, right?  Sleep came in the form of a 2 hour or so nap after “dinner”.

With only a couple of hours of sleep, I managed to make it through some sightseeing in Dublin and, more importantly, some genealogy research at the National Library today.  While we can’t be 100% sure , it appears my great-great-grandfather’s family was from a tiny village called Cahersherkin, near Ennistymon in County Clare.  Unfortunately, he was born just shortly before civil records began to be registered in Ireland.  I will be very close to that area the week after next, so I plan to at least drive through the village.  My great-great-grandmother’s family is much harder to trace, with very little showing up in online databases.  But it was not a wasted trip!  I then headed to the General Register Office and obtained copies of my great-great-great-uncles’ birth certificates (they were born just after the institution of civil records registries), which led me to the name of the village they were from.

Christ Church Cathedral, Dublin
Christ Church Cathedral, Dublin

After an exhausting walk around Dublin, I stopped by Christ Church Cathedral and St. Patrick’s Cathedral before heading back to check into my hotel (I had left my luggage here when I first arrived).  Unfortunately, the room was a sauna, and it quickly became apparent the a/c wasn’t working.  They sent someone up, who offered a fan to help cool down the room.  That wasn’t going to cut it, so I ended up being moved a couple of doors down to a room where I now have the air conditioning blasting.

Remember the random huge marshmallows I enjoyed in the executive lounge in London a few months ago?  I’m beginning to think huge marshmallows are a European “thing”.  They had huge chocolate covered ones here!  The hors d’oeuvres and appetizers in the lounge sufficed for dinner tonight, and I am ready to call it a day!  I don’t hate Dublin, but I am once again reminded that I am just not a city person.  I’m looking forward to seeing Dublin Castle and Trinity College tomorrow before picking up the rental car and heading out of the city on Saturday!

